Temptation Island

I am NOT talking about the reality TV show, I am talking about the NICU

Today was my first day at work after deciding what to “give up” for Lent. (although I’m really not giving up anything. Unless you count cookies, cakes, candy, and computer time.)

Anyway, first thing I walk in this morning to find donuts in the nurses lounge. I’m not a HUGE donut fan (I mean, Ill eat them! haha) but they aren’t something I crave. But at 6:30 when you are tired, you will eat anything. I ignored them.

I ate a half bagel thin, PB, and 1/2 banana before coming to work. So I didn’t NEED anything.

Breakfast came around 10am: Oatmeal, cinnamon, and banana

While eating my breakfast, someone brought in cookies. COOKIES AT 10 AM COME ON!!!! They kept staring at me. Saying “just try a little piece”. NO THANK YOU. When I was done w/ my oatmeal, I left the lounge. Putting distance between me and the cookies. It worked.

Midmorning snack: cashews

Mom update: I talked w/ her this morning and she is sounding much more alive than yesterday. it must be all the yummy things I got her! 🙂

Everyday, I have to walk by the dieticians office to get to the nurses lounge. And you know what they have, Candy. LOTS OF CANDY! I see it everytime I walk to the lounge, office, or front desk. But today, I resisted all of it.

Lunch: Mini Lasagna Cups, sweet potato fries and ketchup, and pudding cup

Snack: Apple slices (I wasn’t even THAT hungry, but I knew I needed something to get me through to the end of my shift)

Dinner: Shrimp Pasta

Before leaving work: Got a call from Andrew’s doctor at 4:55pm. When I called at 5:05, it said they had left the office. If they even tell me he is positive for strep or flu, I might scream

Question for you:

ANy plans for this weekend?

 

2 thoughts on “Temptation Island

Leave a Reply

