Pigs can Fly

Last week I did the unthinkable. I think hell froze over and pigs began to fly, because I went running before work!!!!

from sept 9

Now I know to a lot of people, thats not a big deal. To me, its big. Over the past few years, I went from working out in the evenings (ie. when I was in college and didn’t wake up till 11 or later). Nowadays, I have to work out in the morning or for the most part, it won’t get done.

I tried to work out after work, but that didn’t last. After waking up at 5:45, dragging myself out of bed, getting to work, and handing 12 hours in the NICU, well, sometimes energy was short to come by. (and I really hated changing from scrubs to workout clothes, I’d rather be in my PJs haha)

Anyway, back to running. My friend Denise at work gets up every morning before work. She can even get 6 miles in before our 7am shift. I think she gets up at 4 or some unknown hour. Bottom line: she is crazy and AWESOME!!!!!! jk She is an amazing runner, super fast, and even though she has had her fair share of injuries recently, she still seems to love it.

Last week, I put on facebook that I was going to go running at work. Andrew was at my parents for the night, and I just thought, I’m going to do this! Well, it didn’t happen. I got a call at 11pm from my parents, my mom was having a serious asthma attack and they were possibly going to have to use her epi pen and take her to the ER. So no sleep for me.

Pinned Image

Then a few days later, I worked with Denise. I told her I was going to go running before work tomorrow. And if I told her I was going, then i would, because I wouldn’t want to let her down.  I went home from work, got everything ready for the next day, and went to bed at 8:45. hahah. yes I’m a grandma and go to bed REALLY early, but the 12 hour days can take it out of you.

 4:55 first alarm goes off. lay back down

4:57 Second alarm goes off. ROLLLLLLLLL my body out of bed and got dresssed.

5:02 Head outside. OH MY GOSH. it is still really dark. I hope no one jumps me

5:03 So where I am going to go? haha.

I ended up making a big loop around my house, sticking to the main streets. It really was dark! I finished almost 3 miles!

5:40 Shower

5:50 Dressed, breakfast (which I usually dont eat before work) and ice coffee- YUMMM

6:10 Time to check some blogs and then makeup

6:20 Off to work!

It really was an awesome experience. And even though I didn’t WANT to get out of bed that early, it felt great during the run and all day I felt alert (except around 5pm, I was ready to go home! haha)

Pinned Image

 

5 thoughts on “Pigs can Fly”

  1. I am an early morning runner…before my injury which has led me to not run with the neighborhood guys, we’d go out at 4:30 if it was going to be longer than 4 miles, and we’d go at 5 if it was a 4 mile day. I loved that we got it out of the way! I still naturally wake up at 4:30… the more you do it, the easier it is to get up that early. I am glad to see that you do go to bed early…it is so important not to skip out on sleep just to get in a workout. You need the sleep just as much!
    And you are also correct in that you will have more energy for the day by working out early! And I know that exact 5pm feeling! Just think, for most people who wake later, they get that feeling in early evening…you’ve been up for 12 hours! I can’t wait until I can do it again…maybe in a few more weeks….glad you gave it a try!!!

  2. Congrats on your run before work! I personally can’t do it, I go in to work before 8, but I coach track in the evenings so I usually just work out between my real girl job and my track practice that I coach. That way I only have to shower once (assuming I may run some with the kids and get sweaty at practice).

    Getting in the habit probably helps too… I even know a guy who runs on his lunch breaks and he’s super fast and can get like 8 miles in. Anyway, glad you got it in- hopefully you can run again before work sometime especially if it made your day that much better!

  3. AHAHAHAHA I love that quote picture!!! OMG, I’m going to have to steal it and put it on my facebook or SP or something!

    I agree, working out in the morning feels so good! But you’ve gotta make the time for it. Maybe that’s why I can’t seem to get my butt to campus earlier than 10 AM.
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

