Jumpin’ in feet first

On Saturday, I was able to swim for the first time in a year!!!!

 

old swim bag, out and ready!

 

You guys should have seen me, I was pretty much jumping up and down when my sister in law said she could watch Andrew so I could go!

The Triathlon Club swims in the lake at New Town from May to August. (this was the same lake I swam my first tri in two years ago)

When I arrived, I was so nervous! I stopped to ask a few girls what to do. I was completely clueless haha

After checking in, talking with a few people (I even ran into a girl I swam in highschool with), it was time to jump in the lake~!

lake picture during the triathlon 2009

The water temperature was 73 degrees and perfect. I stepped in and took off…I little too fast. I actually started to freak out for a minute. Mostly because I wasn’t breathing like I should. Once I actually focused on the strokes and breathing every third stroke, I was golden.

The lake has three buoys that make a triangle and once around is about 0.5-0.6 miles around.

(sorry, arrows won’t show up. But this is the man made lake)

After my first warm up lap, I went on the second. It felt like heaven haha. I was in such a groove and didn’t zig zag all over the place (which is the hardest thing in a lake).

During this lap, I was thinking about how I was going to blog about this to you guys! haha. Eventually, I just told myself to stop thinking about that, and just to enjoy the experience.

I can’t wait till the next time I can go!

Question for you:

Have you ever raced in a lake before?

Would you rather swim in a pool, river, lake, or ocean?

4 thoughts on “Jumpin’ in feet first

  1. not a swimmer…I prefer a pool, so I can just “hang” or sit on a step…in the lake at our cabin, I make sure I have a “noodle” or my life vest on so I can just float around. Oh, and I wear shoes (crocs) so I don’t have to touch the slimy bottom!!!

  2. Pingback: Lower Body Workout « Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

