Photoshop in Gradeschool??!?!

In a few days, Andrew will be getting pictures taken at school! Each year, the whole school gets uncomfortable unnatural looking pictures that parents get to keep FOORREVVVERRRR haha. (of course, unless you didn’t have the braces/bangs/acne issue as a kid haha)

Well, this year we ordered a few (because I love to keep them for later haha) and I noticed one section that I didn’t remember seeing before…

OH MY GOSH! really?!?!?! photo shopping in gradeschool!! I remember those akward pictures, stray pieces of hair, or bad makeup. And even though back then I may have wished for this, I DO NOT think this is right AT ALL!

I feel so bad for the girls and boys growing up in a world of photo shopping. That you can never be perfect and we must change your pictures so you look better. really!?!?

There are have been several stories of celebrity pictures being changed. And BIG TIME changed!

This picture is of Kristen Stewart. Where is her arm?

This website has SEVERAL photo shopped celebrities. It is disqusting. This woman is beautiful, and yet they changed her…

Of course, on the other side, there is Dove who is working to change the idea of a healthy woman, not a skinny/perfect woman

my thought on the matter: curves are in!!

Question for you:
what are your thoughts? To much? Or not a big deal?

5 thoughts on “Photoshop in Gradeschool??!?!

  1. I never get my kids’ pix “retouched”. I agree that how they are is what the pix should look like – “Warts and all”. Especially with having 4 girls, I think that it is important for them to like who they are and not want to strive for “perfection” as defined by “society” – now, maybe for their HS senior portrait, I might allow a pimple retouch, but regular school pix, I don’t think so!

  2. It freaks me out to look at the Nitro picture actually. They made her leg longer. WEIRD.

    And I think that is ridiculous for the kid’s photos! A lot of pictures were terrible but it is what it is supposed to be!!! I feel bad for the kids whose parents feel the *need* to get the retouching. Setting those kids up for low self esteem!
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

