Sometimes its cloudy

There are no secrets around here. (ok. maybe a few) But when it comes to weight lose, working out, and eating healthy, I’m an open book. I struggle. The 30lbs that I have been trying to lose (since I gained it back 2 years ago!) is still here. I’m frustrated with myself that it isn’t coming off. It is up to me! And I can’t seem to do it. The sense of being a failure is there everyday. I see other people losing weight, and I think “see they can do it! why can’t YOU!”
 
negative thoughts crowd my mind. And with swim suit season  it makes me want to move to Alaska.
 
My son is starting to notice people, and their sizes. He doesn’t say anything negative, he just observes. He must hear me or my mom talking about losing weight, because he mentioned how much he weighed. (he is a bean pole!)
 
I grew up with a mother who is overweight. I LOVE my mom, and she was always there for me. She was an amazing person, and her weight never bothered me. But sometimes her weight got in the way. Now even, she can’t run far or fast to keep up with the grand kids. I don’t want to be an overweight mom or grandma. I want to set a good example.
 
I want to be healthy!
 
My goal is to find a way to be healthy. Not lose X amount of weight, but to eat what is right for MY body, to go to the park with my son, play basketball, and eat healthy because I want to, not because I need to (ok. I need to, but moving on haha)
 
recently, I have found a few things that I hope to help me along the way….
 
  • Gretchen at honey I shrunk the gretchen is pretty awesome. She lives life to the fullest (and is hilarious!) she is also going through her own roller coaster of weight lose. She definitely gives me inspiration!
  • Janetha talks about balancing your life. But enjoying to the fullest! It doesn’t have to be eat your veggies, workout etc etc. Here I learned I need to get back to setting goals. I used to race in half marathons, triathlons,a nd now I workout because I want to lose this weight. Its time to make it fun and alittle competitive! Also, I need to relax more, my stress it just hurting me!
  •  Caitlyn at healthytippingpoint mentioned adding “juices” to her diet. Here is the rebootwithjoe. I don’t think I will go for 5 days on JUST “juice” but I think if I added it as a snack, it would be a great way to get in my veggies! She also mentions working out on vacation, which I will need because we leave soon for the beach!
  • My cousin also mentioned she was doing weightwatchers online (she needs to lose like 5lbs…) so I have thought of that, but the idea of using money for that just doesn’t appeal to me. I have to get my property surveyed this week. 450 bucks. (another stressor) I have started faithfully using sparkpeople.com. I used this site when I lost 30lbs (the first time haha)

I’m sorry this is such a long (and maybe boring) post. I don’t mean for it to be that way, but I had to get it out there. It isn’t always happy and sunny over here. Now its time to kick butt, get sweaty, and eat healthy!

Thanks for listening 🙂

Question for you:

Are you struggling with anything right now? How do you overcome it?

6 thoughts on “Sometimes its cloudy

  1. Good luck with your weight loss. I definitely think setting a goal like a race or competition would help, that way you could have something else to achieve aside from just a number on a scale, but you’d definitely lose some along the way (especially running consistently- when I first started running I dropped a few pounds right off the bat and I was already pretty thin). You can do it :).

  2. I think that we all struggle with something. If it isn’t weight, it’s something else. Getting enough sleep, letting go of stress, spending time with friends…the list goes on…Don’t feel bad about it. Give yourself some room to fail and focus on what you did well. I was talking with someone the other day and she said that she didn’t have a good week because she ate out over the weekend and didn’t eat “in her plan” which is to avoid gluten (it upsets her belly). I said to her, you had 18 out of 21 meals in plan….how is that a failure? When you turn it around and look at what you’ve done well it can change your mindset and keep you focused. Strive for doing your best. Not perfection. We can’t be perfect. Why try? It’s only a set up for failure! Aim high and you will succeed…you may not hit 100% and that is OK! You can do this, girlie…I know you can. Ready, Set, Go!!!

  3. I agree with Tiffany above. I think everyone struggles with something as well. I think not focusing on weight and more on other aspects can help to set your weight loss back on track. It’s funny how young children start to notice weight and size these days.

  4. I hear ya! I too have figure out that fitness hasn’t been fun lately, just to lose weight which isn’t happening. I’m hoping I can find my fun again in my workouts. I’m a social person so hopefully I can find a cheap gym to join to really help me out.

    So, I’m about 20-25lbs up from my lowest weight also. With school, stress, etc. its been tough. We all go up and down. You know I haven’t been in the greatest place mentally either. I think that is the hardest obstacle. We all know exercise puts us in a good mood but its hard getting started!

    I’ve been really trying to use My Fitness Pal a lot more lately to track my food and such (and SP for motivation). I’ve gotten lazy with the tracking and I know it helps!
    ~Ang

  5. Pingback: Inspiration | Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

