Balloon Race 2013

Each year, in Forest Park, there is a huge event involving hot air balloons (I mean you can’t get any cooler than that, right?!?!)
My family usually goes to the balloon glow on Friday night (this was last year) But this year, the rain was just not having it, so instead we went to the race. We drove and then my mom, nephew, Andrew, and I rode our bikes into the park

DSC_0123
It was a bit windy, so the energizer bunny didn’t take off, but alot of balloons did race!

So here is how it goes. The first balloon (usually the bunny. but this year was the red balloon) takes off about ten minutes before the others.

DSC_0135
He floats away gracefully…..
(of course there is WAY more that goes into it than that)

DSC_0143
But anywho, after floating, the man actually “driving” the balloon drops a bag to the ground. The other balloons follow suit and try and get as close as they can to the first dropped bag.
I believe the whole race is for bragging rights, and its more about luck than skill (so someone told me, but I’m sure there is a TON of skill involved. I won’t be “driving” a balloon anytime soon. haha)

DSC_0148 DSC_0146

We had a blast! And if you are in St Louis for next years race and balloon glow. you should head to Forest Park!

Question for you:
Have you ever been in a a hot air balloon

4 thoughts on “Balloon Race 2013”

  1. Never been in one and don’t think I ever will! There are a bunch that go by our home – we live in between 2 small airports…sometimes they are very low and we can hear them chatting! The kids think it is awesome. There is a race about an hour from us, and my friend from Nursery school goes to it…I should have her tell me when it is so I can bring my kids…they’d like the Glow event, too I think!

Leave a Reply

