What I ate Wednesday: 12 hour shift

This week has defiantly been interesting. As of Wednesday, I have worked five 12 hour shifts in a row. I knew that i needed to be prepared for those few days, if I wanted to stay away from the junk food at work.

I first started off with a crockpot of stew

P1080404

Look at the sweet potato my aunt grew in her garden!

P1080403

I also had leftover sausage, potato, and peppers baked in the over, and a rotisserie chicken from Sam’s. I have a few different things each week so I don’t get bored and eat the junk.

So this is how a 12 hour shift of food goes…….

Breakfast: Made at home. This week has been big on protein pancakes.

P1080400

And they keep me full till 10:30! At that time, I have bacon (made at home), a mini morning glory muffin + almond butter

Around noon I usually have some cashews

2pm Is lunch time in the NICU world. I also have cucumbers, and dates for dessert

P1080405

5pm another mini glory muffin OR apple with almond butter

P1080407

8pm A small dinner. Basically something different than lunch. I have to keep it different!

P1080187

This it is time to pack up for the next day, and hit the hay

Question for you:

What is the longest shift/day you have ever worked?

-I had a rough day in the NICU and didn’t end up leaving till almost 10. (usually leave at 7:30!)

4 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday: 12 hour shift

  1. Yum! I’m gonna hang out with you and eat what you eat…looks so good!!! Longest day…hmmm…I’m sure it wasn’t even close to your shift. I do remember working some long ones when I worked the midnight shift in a group home for developmentally challenged adolescents…but I don’t think it was ever more than 13-14 hours…

Leave a Reply

