Andrew’s first healthy meal

Andrew and I had the BEST conversation this morning before he went to school.

rewind a bit.... For probably a year, I have noticed that not only do I have belly issues to carbs/sugary foods, but Andrew does as well. We have talked many times about how when is belly hurts, it might have been from the whole pizza he ate at his dad’s. (maybe!?!? haha)

So this morning, we talked about trying for ONE week ALL healthy foods. No junk food because he even says how he is addicted to junk food. And he brought this up himself! What a smart 8 year old! (I may be bias)

Tonight at dinner, we started and he ate everything! I was a cooking machine! (you can tell by my overflowing sink haha)

DSCN0187

First, we baked chicken legs.

DSCN0189

I just put coconut oil on the albumin foil, sprinkled with salt and pepper, and baked at 425 degrees for about 30-40 min

Easy Peasy.

Next, was cauliflower mashed potatoes! He LOVED Them!

DSCN0190

And last, but not least, we made paleo cookie dough truffle shuffles

DSCN0195

SOOO it wasn’t his FIRST healthy meal, but it is a great start to a WEEK of healthy foods. I was SO happy! Like jumping up and down that he ate everything plus some blueberries. I am ALWAYS up for more recipes to try! Thank you pinterest! haha

Question for you:

How do your kids/spouse eat compared to you?

6 thoughts on “Andrew’s first healthy meal”

  1. Awesome!!! Rob and I do pretty well until we get stressed or pressed for time. Then pizza is the cheapest, easiest thing to get. There is a local place that has great salads but 2 salads (1 meal) cost the same as 2 pizzas (2-4 meals). Stupid subsidized crops!

  2. Well, we definitely don’t eat paleo- especially considering I’m pretty much vegetarian. I eat carbs, although not totally junky foods (hey, I am an endurance runner). I do like the cauliflower mashed potatoes though- I tried them the other night for the first time… I should figure out how to make them.

    Tons of sweets mostly just make me hyper instead of bothering my stomach… I do find that eating any sugary foods in the evening/night keeps me up too.

  3. Woo Hoo, Andrew! I am the most strict paleo in our house. Kids and hubs are junk/carb/sugar addicts. My kids especially don’t behave well or have good bellies when they do eat the non-paleo. It’s like they turn into stress/crank monsters.
    Go Andrew!

Leave a Reply

