Benign mass or cancer? CT results

So I wrote some of this post on Monday, after finding out the results of my CT scan. But because of a little bit of stress, I decided to wait and get some sleep before posting. So here goes nothing…..

~~~~~

First, we will start with the good. At fridays weigh in, I was really frustrated, stressed, and overwhelmed with the weight gain. I talked it out with Tiffany and Angela who reminded me that I need to get more strength training with heavy weights. That the cardio, that I have been pushing my body to do, is actually increasing my cortisol level (just like stress) which affects my body in a HUGE way.

So this weekend, I went to good o’ pinterest, and found a great weights workout, which just so happens to be from Angela’s blog haha. I did this at home. yep. My first AT HOME WORKOUT in about a year haha.

not heavy weights, but that's all I have at home. It did the trick!

not heavy weights, but that’s all I have at home. It did the trick!

I turned up the tunes on my computer and got right to work. Even though I don’t usually push myself as much as I do at the gym, I did feel alittle sore the next day. yea muscles!

DSCN0437

~~~~~~~

On the other, not so happy news. I received the results back for both my GI capsule and CT scan. I know it has been awhile since I had these, but I wanted to wait to have all the info to report it all to you 🙂

So my GI capsule study, showed a small polyp in my duodenum which is not emergent but will need to be removed. I was worried about that, until I received my CT results today. while at work. (note to self: never call for results while at work) The report showed that I have a mass on my right kidney, which could be the cause of some of my GI issues. We are optimistic that it will just be a fatty (benign mass) and not anything serious

Good news:  We are starting to get results on what might be going on with my silly belly

BAD news: there is a mass on my kidney haha

Interestingly enough last week, I wished we would find something (not big) on the CT so that we could have some answers and move forward. Now, I wish we didn’t haha. I have been in contact with my GI nurse, who is AMAAAZIINNNGGGG. she has been talking to me all day. Hopefully the mass is benign and just a fatty mass (isn’t that nice). Which apparently is very common in older women. I’m only 28! haha.

Moving forward, I will have an MRI on Friday to get a better look at the tissues and what this darn thing is made of. Everyone pray for fat. (I don’t think I will ever ask for that again haha) This will mean FIVE WEEKS in a row of being NPO and having a procedure one day each week. I’m over being NPO haha

Luckily, after work on Monday (and getting the news) I headed to my parents, who are both in the medical field, and they had me laughing in no time. So today, I am trying to stay busy and just go with the flow. Just not think about it right?!?! Thinking positive thoughts 🙂

Off to the gym to lift some weights 🙂

Question for you:

Have you ever had to have an MRI? How was it? (if you don’t mind sharing)

(sorry this post was soo long, could have had two posts instead. my bad)

10 thoughts on “Benign mass or cancer? CT results

  1. *Hugs*. I am hoping for the best for you and hoping it’s just fat. Yeah I know that sounds weird but still, fat beats cancer or anything dangerous. At least fat’s not *dangerous*… unless you have way too much of it. Which you don’t.

    I’ve never had an MRI before, or a CT scan, or any NPO procedure. I’ve only had to fast for bloodwork, heck that’s bad enough. Personally, I would not stress over the weight loss right now. The whole NPO thing and drugs and all can affect that, and even if this could be nothing, it’s still stressful in your life… which probably also affects your cortisol level. Strength training rocks though, definitely important for everyone! I don’t lift super heavy weights, but I do lift some and do some body weight exercises. It kinda bugs me to see these women who won’t lift at all but will spend hours on the elliptical :(.

  2. I HATE MRIs! I had one of my head and felt so claustrophobic and was anxious for the entire thing! The other was my thumb, so I stayed on my stomach and could see out the tube better so it wasn’t nearly as bad, but they’re soooo long and soooo loud! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for a fatty mass! But I just have a feeling it won’t be bad! And my intuition serves me well 🙂 I’d be over being NPO too. I’m a horrible bitch when I’m hungry. I want to build my weights at home cause I like doing workouts at home, but all I have are 10# weights, which works fine for right now, I guess.

      • They’re all the same! I’ve sat in on quite a few with patients now (when I’ve sedated them or something) and they are just so long. I was in there for over an hour on Sunday watching the MRI. But I went in my scrubs after work one day so I think they thought I’d know what to expect but I had NO CLUE! It was all a shock!

  3. Seems like every nov/dec for the last 5 years I get an MRI! Stinkin’ end of marathon season!!! This year it was for my torn hamstring tendon (not from running!) I always end up going at 10pm and fear that I will fall asleep and mess it up when I jerk awake!
    I hope that you start feeling better and get some good results…I’ll keep praying it’s fatty and that things will be all good soon!!!

  4. Pingback: When life gets tough, get busy | Livin' Life In Louie

  5. Pingback: Got a little TOO busy, time for pancakes | Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

