When the MRI results come back cancer

Well, I am sure that a lot of you can tell that the results for the MRI came back, and they weren’t the best. Soooo we rewind alittle…..

Monday

I arrived at work and was having a great morning. But I missed a call from my doctor, then played phone tag with his nurse several times. FINALLY, we caught up together. And I was thinking they would say “oh. it’s just a fat mass. NOOOOO BIGGIE”. Well, instead they told me it was papillary renal cell carcinoma. Cancer. Yep. The big C word.

After finding out the results, I pretty much had a break down and had to leave work. Luckily, I have amazing coworkers. I also was in contact with the GI nurse the whole morning, who went ABOVE and beyond her job to comfort and help me. She has set up an appointment with the renal surgeron the NEXT DAY.

Tuesday

From Monday till Tuesdays appointment, I was in such a fog. I guess that’s called denial? haha. My mom and I went to the doctor’s office (where I was the youngest person there by 30 years!) and talked with the doctor for almost an hour. He was so patient and kind. I never felt rushed with him, and his nurse was equally as awesome. I am so excited to have their support.

After the doctor’s appointment, we got to work. We drove to my grandparents and gave them the news. When my grandfather started tearing up, I almost lost it! Then my mom and I stayed on the phone and called family and friends. And the support was AMAZING! I will never be able to describe the love and prayers I received. It was incredible!

Wednesday

Today, I had to arrive at the hospital for a chest CT to make sure that the cancer was not found in  my lungs. And they LOOKED GOOD!!! Wahoo. This was defiantly something that I was extremely stressed about. The rest of the day was spent on the phone with work, leave papers, and family and friends. Surgery scheduled for Friday at 1pm.

Thursday

I had a ton of running around. I basically went to every store in St Louis in search of comfy clothes. and I bought ALL of them haha. I then had a two hour preop appointment. Where they took blood, did a physical, and asked lots of questions. Thank goodness that is done. Next up was packing, prepping for the surgery (more GI fun), and figuring the house and life out before I have surgery tomorrow! Well, then I received a call at 1pm that surgery was bumped up to 9am and I needed to be there at 7am. EEK!!! Bring on the stress. Luckily, I had a TO DO LIST and I just went after it.

So now I am ready to kick cancers butt. hahaha.

The type of cancer that they believe I have, is 95% of that is not aggressive. Which is good. There is also 95% survival rate. Also REALLY good. This cancer is mostly found in adults MUCH older than me. It is extremely rare to be found in your 20s. (lucky me) Mine is about the size of a ping pong ball that is grown into my kidney. So for surgery, I will just get that part of the kidney removed. So I will have one and a 1/2 kidneys starting tomorrow 🙂

Well here’s to kicking cancers butt!!! I am watching Ellen to get me in good spirits

I do have a caring bridge site that people can follow along, just email me if you would like to see it! My mom will be updating it tomorrow after surgery!

Thanks everyone for following along, and hopefully I will back sometime this week or next week 🙂

9 thoughts on “When the MRI results come back cancer

  1. You know you’ve got us all in your corner cheering you on! You will be a strong survivor…start kicking, girlie! You know we’re praying here in NJ…hugs to you and Andrew!

  2. You got this girl! So sorry for the harsh news, but if anyone can get through it, it’s you! My sister’s friend just had thyroid cancer removed yesterday, and all went perfectly. Same will go for you 🙂 Hugs!

  3. I am so sorry. I hated seeing the blog title today when I logged on. You will get tons of prayers and happy thoughts from Charleston. Feel free to share your CaringBridge so we can keep up, or just post in here… or whatever you want to do. So glad the cancer has not spread and hopefully the surgery can take care of it. *hugs*

  4. Woah! I was totally not expecting that! However, that is really good news that the success rate is so high with this cancer! ALSO really good news that there was no mets to the lungs! You have lots of support it sounds like at home, as well as on your blog! You’ve got this! Good luck with the surgery! Who needs two full kidneys anyway?!

  5. Pingback: Back after surgery! | Livin' Life In Louie

  6. Pingback: Strike out cancer at the cardinals game | Livin' Life In Louie

  7. Pingback: I became a coach for health | Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

