Life savers after surgery

During recovery from a major surgery, I started to look back at all the amazing things I used that were LIFE SAVERS. The little odds and ends that made recovery and life so much easier those first few weeks and I wanted to pass them on to you!

~Night gowns~

I didn’t think this would be a big deal, but wearing even sweats with my incisions was NOT a good time. If you EVER have to have surgery, you must have some. Also, have several so you can wash them each night. You don’t want to get your incisions infected (ok. done being the nurse haha)

~Workout jacket with thumb holes~

DSCN0513

it kept me warm, and its cute!

~$9 sleepers from Old Navy~

DSCN0517

I didn’t want to walk around the hospital barefoot, this were so comfy too!

~Soft robe from target. Also comfy clothes at Old navy~

DSCN0505

I used the robe in the hospital and at home. I LIVED in comfy clothes for WEEKS.

– Netflix. I watched Prion Break (also Downton Abbey on Amazon Prime) and lots of chick flicks!

~Cards and flowers~

DSCN0501

I had NO IDEA how much these would effect me. Even a simple text, meant the world to me. To know that others were thinking and praying for me, was uplifting. I was in great need of them when i was having a not so good day

~Cake. Because it’s awesome.~

DSCN0497

I mean who doesnt love cake! My mom’s friend made this and brought a smile to my face 🙂

~Cross stitch~

DSCN0500

This was given to me from my grandma, and helped keep me busy. Also, I accomplished something more than watching tv and laying around. This helped me so much!

~Bag of goodies~

DSCN0511

I was given this before surgery by a close friend. It had EVERYTHING! I especially used the travel toothbrush, lotion, and face wash. Back to the basics.

~~~~

Before surgery, I only had a few days to prepare. I ran to Target, Marshalls, and Old Navy is a WILD search for comfy clothes. I came home with bags, and used about 3/4th of them. I slippers were also a great find. On sale, andd then I didnt walk barefoot in the hospital-YUCK.

Now to never have to use this list again 🙂
Question for you:

Have you ever had a long stay in a hospital before?

A favorite piece of comfy clothes, or something you use wen you are sick?

3 thoughts on “Life savers after surgery

  1. I hope I never have to use these tips, but thanks for them… it’s really informative! I haven’t been in the hospital for an extended period of time, but this is good to know in case I am or in case I have a friend who is. I never thought about that with the nightgowns (I own zero nightgowns) but I don’t blame you to have good bedroom shoes for the hospital- I wouldn’t walk on that floor barefooted either, yuck! You would know too working in one :).

    I hope things are going well for you! Email me your address so I can get a card in the mail for you too :).

  2. The nightgown thing is brilliant! Especially for any surgery where the incision is around your lower torso (where your pants would sit). When i got food poisoning a few weeks back, I lived in my “Maxi” dress that I got for $10 from CVS. Ha! They had them as beach cover ups and I bought one and hadn’t used it yet. I didn’t want the pressure of pants on my tummy so it was a livesaver!

    It sounds like you are feeling better! Yay!!
    ~Ang

Leave a Reply

