Doc update: Post Kidney Cancer Surgery

Hi everyone! sorry I have been all over the place. I mean to blog everyday, but lately I have been trying other projects around the house. Pinterest is the devil when you are home and can’t do much. But this shows how I lose all my energy. I went to Target and the dollar store, was gone about an hour for organization supplies. I was exhausted the rest of the day! haha

Anyway, about the doctor. This past Tuesday I had an appointment with my surgeon. love him.

140401_001 140401_004

He spent another 45 minutes with my mom and I answering questions.

looonnng list of questions
looonnng list of questions

He never made us feel like he was in a hurry, or that he didn’t want to be there (unlike a lot of docs) It was a great visit, with lots of good info!

  • Surgery went really well. Got the tumor out in one piece WAHOO
  • Other parts of my kidney were cancer free! WAHOO
  • Type of cancer I have is EXTREMELY rare in 20 year olds (almost unheard of)
  • My stage was 1Ta, which is the best you can have. WAHOO
  • Reoccurrence rate at 5 years is 5% for me WAHOO
  • I can lift over 10 lbs now!

Obviously, I knew a lot of these things after surgery a month ago, but the reoccurrence was new to me. I will get a CT scan in July to check my lungs and kidney again, and then depending on that, more scans in the future. Eventually, they should be every other year.

The one thing that bothered me was there wasn’t too much support for kidney cancer or renal cell carcinoma. I asked if they had races or organizations here in St Louis, and my doctor said not that he knew of 😦

My mom thinks I should start a race……

Well, I just wanted to give an update from my appointment, and hopefully my blog will be less medical here in the coming weeks haha. Here’s too a fast and smooth recovery 🙂

 

Question for you:

Have you ever raced for a cause?

-I also do the March of Dimes walk/run that raises money for premature babies. This year it is the day after my brothers wedding, so I’m not sure if I will be there

 

4 thoughts on “Doc update: Post Kidney Cancer Surgery”

  1. Most races I do are for a cause. I think those are the best to do. I love running and I love that my race dollars, at least some of them, can go toward helping others. If I’m gonna run and race, I may as well do ones that do, you know? However, I agree with you that certain types of cancer seem to get the attention with fundraisers and benefits. I do a race for cancers below the waist each year… those are usually not the ones people like to talk about but affect lots of people! I think a race would be great to benefit kidney cancer.

    I am glad your appointment went well and everything is in your favor. I am glad they got all the cancer and hoping you can have a speedy recovery. Take it easy and do not worry about blogging so much, we are here for ya even if you can’t write all the time.

  2. Good news! Yeah! I try to do races for causes, not every one is, but the local 5ks that I do are…if you organize a race, I’ll come! 🙂 Maybe as a family you can do an ACS race like Angela suggested…start a new tradition to go along with the march of dimes one…have a fantastic weekend! And here’s to more awesome recovery!!!

Leave a Reply

