Healthy Living, Healthy Kidney

I have been EXTREMELY blessed the past few weeks. I know that sounds crazy to say, since they found cancer and I had to have surgery. But the amount of support and prayers I have received from family and friends has been AMAZING.

My family was there the first weeks, with pain medication, cleaning, cooking, and taking care of Andrew. There is no way I would have been able to do that by myself. I was barely able to do anything. I basically ate and slept.

My friends have been checking on me as well. Sending cards and texts, and coming for visits. I had no idea how much these would mean to me, but they were exactly what I needed to stay sane haha They have also brought meals the past week, which has helped immensely! And Andrew’s friends have taken him to play, so that he can run around and be a kid. Which has made this mom so happy. I didn’t want Andrew just to sit around and watch tv. this way he can go and be a kid 🙂

My work family sent a generous gift of gift cards and money raised. I was beyond words. I had no idea that they did this for me, and it makes me cry just thinking about it. They have also come to visit, send cards, and take me to lunch. My NICU family really is amazing!

After a month of recovery, I have been looking back, and it all seems so strange. It is finally becoming a reality. But now I have started focusing on the future. I decide I want to be healthy for me. for Andrew. for my kidney. haha. And that is what this is all about. Instead of working on some goals each week, or having a competition of losing X amount of weight by X date, I want to be HEALTHY. That is my goal.

So each Friday, I will be talking about things that make my kidney happy  🙂

Blogs I’ve seen this week:

Gretchen at Honey, I Shrunk the Gretchen wrote about 3 diet changes

Paleo Parents’ 50 tips for getting seriously strong

How to get Organized in a small house

 Any help, advice, or encouragement is welcome!

 Question for you:

What is one thing you do (or don’t do) to make you happy?

 

9 thoughts on “Healthy Living, Healthy Kidney

  1. So one thing in my new book is that you need to make progressive goals (like “I want to be leading a healthy lifestyle”) verses static goals (like “Lose 20 pounds”) is it ingrains habits into your life and doesn’t have an endpoint (like after you lose the weight, you stop doing those healthy things). You can use static things though to measure your progress over time. So… your new outlook is perfect! 🙂
    ~Ang

  2. I’m so glad you’ve had so much support from your friends, family, and coworkers in dealing with the surgery and cancer, and that you’re so positive about it.

  3. Sounds like a great plan…and even though you had a “weight” goal in mind before surgery, you were focusing on being healthy…taking out the stress of hitting a weight goal just might be what you need! Way to go on the positive thinking…you are amazing!

  4. Pingback: Putting Pins to Use | Livin' Life In Louie

  5. Pingback: Healthy Living: week One | Livin' Life In Louie

Leave a Reply

