day 3: more food for 12hrs

Another day at work. These 12 hour shifts take a lot of planning! Yesterday, i did not plan that well. I knew this because i was starving by 5pm. With 2 1/2 hours before i could go home. Not good! I always make my lunch the night before, so I made sure to add lots of goodies.

I made sure to have lots of food packed and ready.

6am: eggs, broccoli, and peppers

20140826_060146

9am: protein coffee. Brought to work in a water bottle

20140826_055957

11am: bacon

1pm: cashews pecans

2pm: cauliflower mash, watermelon, one pancake

20140826_060737

STUFFED!!!

5pm: 2 babybel cheese

20140826_060727

(didnt eat the apple or nuts.)

8pm: shrimp + watermelon

 

workout: none. but I did have over 10,000 steps at work. I had to pick up andrew at my parents, and then get him in bed.

 

I did a lot better in making sure I had healthy eats on hand. I know that when I get hungry, I go for something that is easy. That is why you see a lot of small snacks that can be eaten on the run, or when you have a free moment. sometimes it gets crazy in the NICU. For the future, I will just make sure I have a full lunch box 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So I got a few questions about the protein coffee and it is SUPER easy! I followed along to this recipe, just changed a few things.

PROTEIN COFFEE

  • Ingredients
    • 1 cup cold coffee
    • 1 scoop protein powder
    • a few iced cubes of almond milk *
    • 1 tsp vanilla
    • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Directions:
    • 1.) Make coffee the night before and place in frig. (or make that day and put in freezer for a bit)
    • 2.) Place all ingredients in a cup or blender and blend. I used my smart stick

* You can also just add almond milk and ice cubes.

Super easy and you get some sweet coffee, with lasting protein powder, and without the extra carbs/sugar! I highly recomend it

Question for you:

How do you like your coffee? this question is perfect for Hollie 😉

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “day 3: more food for 12hrs

  1. I eat TONS for lunch at work! Especially on 12s. I try have 2 eggs for breakfast, a meat (sometimes sausage, sometimes I overlook this) and some carbs (plantains, zucchini, sweet potatoes, paleo pancake)… I try to eat some sort of fruit as a snack around 11 usually… And then for lunch I try to at least have a meat, veggie, carb (usually a carby vegetable) and fruit and used to eat a yogurt but don’t now. Then I eat again when I get home. I tend to snack more on this assignment cause of weird hours and I hate all the snacking! I like my main meals!

Leave a Reply

