Donating hair

A few months ago, when I diagnosised with kidney cancer, I remember thinking oh no…my hair. (after of course, the idea of surgery, chemo, and radiation. ) But I thought about how my brother’s wedding was just a month away and I was lucky enough to be a bridesmaid, and how I would need a wig. Or what if I was too sick to be there. I also didn’t want to take away the attention from my sister in law and brother

IMG_55536453920347

Luckily, I did not have to have anything but surgery and I was able to keep my hair. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized how your hair really defines YOU. Some of short pixie cuts, and others have long curls, or cuts in between. People dye them all the colors of the rainbow, or shave it off completely.

I decided that since I was extremely lucky to keep my hair, I would grow mine out to donate it for someone who had to lose theirs. I went to the salon thinking it was going to be super easy. little did I know….

20140919_111650

I was prepared to donate my hair that day, but I didn’t have enough. I also didn’t realize there were a few organizations that accept donated hair. So I decided to come home and do some research

– These wigs are given to children with medically related hair loss at no charge

-This site seems to be more accepting. The length only has to be 8 inches or greater. They accept grey hair, or colored hair.

-They give over 300 kits out to children a year

– Donate wigs to children in US and Canada under 21 years old

-Mininum of 10 inches of hair

-Grey hair is sold to offset manufacter’s cost. Shorter hair is also sold to offset these costs.

-No bleached hair

-Donations are made to women who loss their hair because of cancer

-Minimum of 8 inches

-No dyes, bleaches, or chemicals

– no more than 5% grey hair

-There are steps here on how to prepare your hair for the months before cutting

~~~~~~~~~

I also started taking Biotin after a friend suggested it to help grow it some more 🙂

20140919_111511

I know it will be a slow process, but I am hoping by the time I go to mexico in February with friends, I will be able to have it cut.

20140919_111725

Wishful thinking I’m sure.

Question for you:

Have you ever donate your hair? Or another personal item?

How do you like your hair, short? long?

3 thoughts on “Donating hair

  1. I agree with you about how much people think about their hair. For me, I know it will grow back so it’s not a big deal but I do understand it’s a big deal for some people. I am so happy you were able to overcome your issue without any major problems.

  2. I like my hair and have not donated. I actually cannot donate because I color my hair a lot and they will not take it if it is chemical treated.

    I took biotin right after I was diagnosed with anemia. I had very thin hair. It really helps thicken up your hair a lot.

Leave a Reply

