10th Annual Mesothelioma Awareness Day

A few weeks ago, I was contacted by Heather about a very important cause. Mesothelioma. I do not have this form of cancer, but after becoming more aware of what truly is out there, I knew that I needed to help with awareness! Any cancer is a big deal, any cancer takes away love ones, and to me, that’s a big deal.

Heather share with me her story, and it really touched me.

Heather and Lily

“Eight years ago, I was diagnosed with mesothelioma; a rare cancer caused by exposure to asbestos.

I had just given birth to my daughter, Lily, and was only given 15 months to live.

After a life saving surgery that included the removal of my left lung, I am now thriving more than ever. “

Since then, Heather has been working with her family to raise awareness, and today is the 10th annual mesothelioma Awareness day. A preventable disease that takes so many lives.

Of course, the information was staggering! I couldn’t believe some of the stats she sent

Screenshot_2014-09-26-21-39-09

To realize there is still 30 million pounds of asbestos used in the United States still today!!! I have always heard the worry about being exposed to asbestos, but its something even I will be paying more attention to.

Screenshot_2014-09-26-21-39-47

She also sent this link for more information!  mesothelioma.com and ways for us to help

Question for you:

Have you ever had to worry about asbestos?

Ever heard of mesothelioma?

 

One thought on “10th Annual Mesothelioma Awareness Day

Leave a Reply

