dealing with stress, with goals

There has been a lot going on here in St Louis, some good, some bad, some indifferent. I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed with all of it. So I thought I would turn to you guys and tell you the plan 🙂

I found an article on pinterest (yep. I love that site) talking about weight lose and the paleo diet. I eat paleo about 98% of the time. It helps with my belly issues, I am have a better attitude,and more energy.  I love how I feel,  but I know everyone isn’t on board. It was hard at first, but now its a no brainer. (I still eat cupcakes and cake and all that other stuff, just only a few times).

Anyway, back to the article. It states that there are three reasons why someone might not be losing on the paleo diet

1.) calories. Too many calories

2.) too much caffeine

3.) not enough sleep

6f6e923cf80baceafd489b785febb71f

(source)

Wellllll I have been getting too many of the first two, and not enough on the last one. This is where my plan for the week begins. I have been trying to lose this weight for a long time, but it is still a learning experience for what I need to do for ME to get some results.

I need to stop putting pressure on myself

– when I say I am going to lose x amount by x date. It never happens. Now if I say, I want to lose weight this week. If I just want my pants to fit better. then I will lose. The pressure of a certain amount, NEVER works for me. I said I wanted to lose 2.5lbs by the end of october, and I haven’t lost, I gained.

Destressing starts with sleep

– I am a night owl at heart. Having Andrew made me have to get up earlie, so I have been switching to more mornings. But I still love reading in bed with a good book. And that means saying “just one more chapter. Ok. seriously. last chapter” Then its 11pm. That is too late for me.

Lack of sleep equals more coffee

– If I dont sleep, I have found myself drinking two or three cups of coffee. It was just a cycle of no sleep, more coffee, no sleep. Well,  and coffee is just awesome 🙂

The stress that I have been having is related to work, my family, and stressors that I have put on myself. This week I am only working my goals:

1.) keep track of food on myfitnesspal

2.) try to keep calories -500 for the day

3.) workout on days on off (if it happeneds after a 12hour shift too,  great! )

4.) get 10,000 steps a day

5.) bed by 10

6.) do One Destressing thing a day

The Verdict!

Tuesday was a success!  I tracked,  was -535 calories,  workout when I got home,  get in 10,267 steps,  I’m in bed now getting ready to read till 10

A great start 🙂

Questions for you:

-do you find its better to have one big goal for you self,  or break it up into pieces? 

Do you have any goals before the end of the year?

 

One thought on “dealing with stress, with goals

Leave a Reply

